Exnay on the Grades- kay?

I came across this post on grading, assessment and why it should change by Joe Bower and loved it! I want to read more, know more and be active in this. But I’m wondering how this applies to the early years of teaching? How would I go about having those ‘grade’ discussions with students who are 5 and 6 years old if they haven’t already been ‘schooled’ into understanding (and depending on) what it means to be assessed. I’m not saying that I think its not possible for the younger years, I just think it would be followed through in a very different manner.

Base photo credit:

Creative Commons Attribution-Noncommercial-Share Alike 2.0 Generic License Proctor Archives

6 responses to “Exnay on the Grades- kay?

  • annaraskolnikoff

    I will be honest with you (all) – when I am reading posts in your blogs, I look at the subject you write on, how you write it, do you try to interact, are the photos embedded and such. I hardly ever click on “I found THIS article and it’s cool” because reading your blogs would take me… like a year.
    MY GOSH! Don’t I thank myself that this time I did clink on the article. I found it fascinating. I love the fact that there is someone who actually shows how to do it in practice instead of negotiating the meaning behind grades. Three yeses for Mr. Bower! Thanks Heather!

  • annaraskolnikoff

    Oh, I forgot to mention – I like your blog a lot. It would be great if you could add more pictures in the opening sequences of your posts and make it a bit more… user friendly when it comes to media (like embedding videos and such).

    • hchev

      Thank you : ) What do you mean by adding more pictures in the opening sequences of posts? Just having more visuals to spice things up?

      And I thought my videos were embedded… doesn’t that just mean that they show up as the video in my post and you don’t have to click on a link to be taken to the external source? I thought my vids were like that.. maybe there’s a glitch. Or am I totally misunderstanding what it means to embed…?

      Thanks for the suggestions, I’m pretty new to it all so any advice with how to make my blog better aesthetically or practically I’m happy to hear!

  • lrschmale

    Unfortunately, this is how our society demands assessment. As a high school teacher, I don’t have a choice but to give marks.

    • hchev

      You don’t think there’s any other way? And why “don’t you have a choice?”. Isn’t that just admitting defeat, accepting the domination of an authoritarian force rather than questioning it?

Leave a Reply

