Is this the last Feb break I’ll get?

Entering the field as an educator right now is rife with issues. Here in Saskatchewan the question has been put forward by our governing party of whether to start the school year after the Labour Day long weekend. This decision, however, would result in the loss of our annual “February break”, which is a week off from school in the middle of the month of February. I’m not entirely informed on the reasons why starting after Labour Day would be a good idea, so all I am seeing is the negative aspects of the situation. In my opinion, and from what I’ve heard through the grape-vine, students and teachers alike look forward to the February break. Many students and their families take this opportunity to go on vacation or visit far-off relatives, or if nothing else, relax and have a mental break from school. I don’t like the idea of losing the February break as a teacher, and it really doesn’t matter to me whether school starts before or after the Labour Day long weekend. But, unfortunately, I feel like I really have no say in the matter.

I heard on the Moose Jaw radio about a poll on Discover Moose Jaw in regards to this issue. I’m going to fill it out, and I encourage you to do the same. I’m not sure if it will make a difference, but its the least we can do to have our voices heard.

2 responses to “Is this the last Feb break I’ll get?

Leave a Reply

