Don’t sit too close to the t.v…..

I was shown this video in my ECE class, and I found it very intriguing. I’ve often wondered the affect T.V. (and screen time in general) has on a developing child’s brain. One point made in the video is that T.V. now is worse than it was ‘then’. The constant screen changes over stimulate the child’s brain, and make it difficult for them to focus on anything for very long- which has a negative affect on focus and learning in the early school years. Its hard to tell whether the speaker is just being nostalgic (citing Mr. Rogers as better T.V. because of its longer scenes), or if he really does have a point. Its also difficult to tell whether the message is that children should not watch T.V. at all because of the negative affect it can have on a developing brain, or if the message is that some T.V. programs are “OK” while others are not.

What does this mean for the future generations? Realistically, this information will not reach the mass public for some time, if at all. And so I imagine nothing will be done to curb the screen habits of children any time soon. If what is said within the video is true, most children will enter the school environment with brains hardwired for constant change and stimulation and will have a very difficult time adjusting to the focus on ‘focusing’ in school. I would say teachers are seeing a lot of this already. I guess its difficult to say whether the over abundance of children diagnosed with ADHD is due to an increase in fast paced T.V. programs, movies and video games in the past decade.. but based on what the speaker says here it could very well be the case.

One response to “Don’t sit too close to the t.v…..

  • annaraskolnikoff

    I see two point here that I would like to address. One is overstimulation and lack of focus. I know it happens to me. I seized watching TV as I find it tiring more than relaxing. I can’t watch films with too much of editing, flashing etc. Everything starts being build like that – books (short chapters), plays, it seems that it’s difficult to get people’s attention.
    But there is another thought – what if it is how our “older” brains react to the change? What if this kind of ‘training’ is exactly what kids need?

Leave a Reply

